Window or Mirror?

My book, The Hate U Give is a window. A window is a book that exposes you to a perspective, experience, or setting different from anything you have ever done or seen before. Unlike mirror books which you can relate to on some basic to large level. It is a window as not only are the events things I have never experienced, but the setting is also not close to my experiences. For example, Starr’s friend, Khalil gets shot for talking back to a cop. I have never experienced anything close to this event, and that happened in the 2000s, when this book is based, an era that I have not seen, heard, or felt. I like window books more, as they both expose me to things I seldom do, and really make fiction more educational and imaginative from my point of view.

I started reading this book because Cayden was reading it, and I thought it sounded good when we went around saying the title of our book in Language Arts. The genre is fiction. The author is Angie Thomas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *